Remember Me [Vc-19tet] – Sets
David Maslanka

Remember Me

for Violoncello and Nineteen Musicians
17 min.   •   
   •   Grade 5
Product Type: Sets

Remember Me is not a concerto in the traditional sense, but a single-movement, free-flowing fantasia.

This composition was inspired by my reading of a “relatively minor” Holocaust event – the extermination of 5,000 Jews in a small town – in William L. Shirer’s Rise and Fall of the Third Reich. An eye-witness description of a Jewish family about to be slaughtered – mother, father, 10-year-old son, grandmother gently bouncing a year-old baby and making it smile – forcefully riveted my mind and heart. This music is for the baby – a single death, through which it is possible to begin to experience the massive horror of the totality.

Find program notes and more information at

Play Video