Concerto for Saxophone Quartet [Sax Qt-Wind Ens] – Sets
David Maslanka


for Saxophone Quartet and Wind Ensemble
33 min.   •   
   •   Grade 6
Product Type: Sets

The Concerto is in three movements, with a duration of approximately 33 minutes. It is for a one-on-a-part ensemble of 24 winds and brass, plus double bass, piano, timpani, and four percussionists.

The first two movements are somewhat parallel in nature. Both have a “seeker” quality, starting and ending very intimately, but discovering an issue of great emotional and spiritual intensity. The third movement begins in the same mode, but quickly reveals itself to be an energetic dance movement with patterning and melodic unfolding reminiscent of the Baroque. This movement is engagingly good natured, and by turns jolly, mysterious, fierce, and triumphant.

Find program notes and more information at

Play Video