Collected Chorale Settings [Sax 4tet arr]
David Maslanka
arr. Matthew Maslanka

Collected Chorale Settings

arr. for Saxophone Quartet
2006 arr. 2007
   •   Grade 2

The Collected Chorales are 117 four-part chorales composed in the 18th-century style. Melodies have been taken from the 371 Four-Part Chorales of J.S.Bach, and new alto, tenor, and bass lines have been added. The resulting new studies in the old style offer a deep modern insight into the workings of melody and harmony.

This arrangement has adjusted the pitch so that it lays well for saxophone quartet. Playing and singing the Chorales at various tempos and dynamics can greatly aid in the development of ensemble cohesiveness and intonation.

Find program notes and more information at