Eternal Garden [Cl-Pno]
David Maslanka

Eternal Garden

for Clarinet in Bb and Piano
27 min.   •   
   •   Grade 6

Eternal Garden was commissioned by a consortium headed by Seattle clarinetist Peggy Dees. The four movements are “Lamentation,” “On Chestnut Hill,” “Elegy: August 6, 1945,” and “Eternal Garden.” The movements become progressively longer, the last being more than half the length of the entire piece. A quality of patience and quiet accumulates over the course of the four movements.

A deeply emotional and powerful piece.

Kimberly Wester

Truly a great addition to (the) repertoire.

Adrian Sandi

Eternal Garden is indeed a very special and unique piece.

Peggy Dees

Find program notes and more information at

Play Video